Go back

Roma and Sinti Philharmonic with Iva Bittová and Roby Lakatos




Roma und Sinti Philharmonic © Björn Hadem
Roma und Sinti Philharmonic © Björn Hadem


Iva Bittová, voice and  violine
Roby Lakatos, violine
Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker
Leader: Riccardo M Sahiti

The Morgenland Festival Osnabrück is pleased to present the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic, an extraordinary transnational orchestra, which impresses with its passionate playing and technical professionality. The concert, which takes place on Monday, 8th November at 8pm in the OS-Halle, also features two exceptional soloists. The singer and violinist Iva Bittová, who gave an extraordinarily impressive solo performance at the opening concert of this year’s festival, will play a world premiere. Commissioned by the Morgenland Festival Osnabrück the prize-winning Canadian composer André Ristic arranged for her the piece “Ne nehledej” for voice, violin and orchestra. In addition the audience will also be able to hear the talented violinist Roby Lakatos. Lakatos worked with Vadim Repin and Stéphane Grappelli and his playing was admired by Sir Yehudi Menuhin, who often stopped off in Brussels to hear him play. In 2004 Lakos appeared with the London Symphony Orchestra in the “Genius of the Violin” Festival alongside Maxim Vengerov.

The Roma and Sinti Philharmonic was founded in 2002 in Frankfurt am Main by the conductor Riccardo M Sahiti. Under his leadership the professional musicians merge together with each project into an ensemble. They come from symphony and opera orchestras all over Europe – e.g. the MDR Symphony Orchestra, the Vienna State Opera, the Opera Zürich, the Opera Frankfurt and the Opera Budapest – and regularly play together as the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic with a common conviction: They believe in the people-uniting power of music. They take their audience on a journey to discover the rich influence of Roma and Sinti culture on classical music. The Roma and Sinti Philharmonic has already performed at venues such as the Berlin Philharmonic Hall, the Berlin Cathedral, the Alte Oper Frankfurt and the Frankfurt Paulskirche, in the Frauenkirche Dresden, the Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam, the Rudolfinum Prague and the Palace of the Arts Budapest.

The concert will take place under the current 2G-regulations.


Roger Moreno-Rathgeb

Iva Bittová (arr. André Ristic)
Ne nehledij

Sergej Rachmaninov
Capriccio Bohémien


Astor Piazzolla

Ivó Csàmpai / János Bihary
Memory of Bihary - Hejre Katy

George Enescu
Romanian Rhapsody Nr. 1

Go back

More Events

Date Time Event Location Category